Sworn to Raise

Title: Sworn to Raise
Author: Terah Edun
Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: Amazon Digital
Publication Date: April 10, 2013

Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the kingdom. But beneath her kingdom’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations.

Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companion’s Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron. 

But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.

This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with remarkable characters and unforgettable magic. Sworn To Raise is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Michelle Sagara, and Maria Snyder.

While there were moments I would like to complain about, I'd rather enjoy this book. It was a decent, easy, enjoyable read that I was able to get through, and the characters seemed real.

That's the only reason why I'm giving this book three stars. To me, the plot has been done before, but with a fantasy twist. A girl is swept away from her life of a laundress and into the lavish life of a Companion. Sounds very Cinderella-ish to me, which is way overdone in my opinion. At some points, the characters acted too out of character for me to simply ignore.

Spelling errors. Oh my god, the spelling errors. I couldn't handle that. I just wanted to get a red pen and mark everywhere. Too bad it was an ebook.

Rating: Three out of Five stars

I received this book from the author and publisher via Netgalley for an honest review.

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS


Post a Comment